

And the winners are.....

AESI2017 sawrepresentatives from several municipalities compete in bench-marking challenges such as vehicle extrication, high-angle technical rescue, emergency medical rescue and the SAEC Fire Fighter Combat and Rescue Challenge. Although both the challenges and the

training preceding the challenges were demanding and testing the participants' abilities, there has to be a winner.

The SAESI 2017 challenge prizes were sponsored by various companies including HeightSafety, ETS Emergency Training Solutions, SAESI,

STAT-Tiakeni Medical, Skillstrain, Fire and Rescue International, SafeQuip, Chemsystems and ER Safety Signs, amongst others. The trophies and medals were sponsored by Marcé Fire Fighting Technology. A huge thank you to all the sponsors for their support and congratulations to the winners!







SAEC Fire Fighter Challenge				
Male	Time	Rank	Service	
Emile Conrad	1:51	1	Eden District	
Rudi Van Der Berg	1:57	2	City of Cape Town	
Ryan Abrahams	1:59	3	City of Cape Town	
Alno Kroon	2:00	4	City of Cape Town	
Henco Swart	2:00	4	Rosenbauer	
Arnold Van Lill	2:06	5	City of Cape Town	
Lucan Wentzel	2:07	6	City of Cape Town	
Hugo Van Schalkwyk	2:07	6	Independent	
Lehan Steynburg	2:12	7	Rosenbauer	
Shadrack Mudzuli	2:12	7	Midvaal Fire and Rescue	
Simiso Cyprian Gumede	2:17	8	City of eThekwini	
Kakhu Tendani	2:25	9	SA Air Force	
Gary Kouffman	2:28	10	Rosenbauer	
SM Gcwensa	2:29	11	City of eThekwini	
Nic Berry	2:31	12	City of JHB reserves	
Lesley Coltman	2:33	13	Nelson Mandela Bay	
Doniel Fortuin	2:34	14	Drakenstein Municipality	
Duane Grantham	2:34	14	Msunduzi Municipality	
Russel Hoskins	2:39	15	Msunduzi Municipality	
Thabani Elvis Mgumbese	2:39	15	City of eThekwini	
Nkululeko Sibetha	2:41	16	Msunduzi Municipality	
Ricardo Simonato	2:43	17	Rosenbauer	
Mnduzi Vilane	2:47	18	City of Ekurhuleni	
Lethukuthula Khanyile	2:47	18	Msunduzi Municipality	
Xolani Zwane	2:48	19	Midvaal Fire and Rescue	
Kurwin Gericke	2:49	20	Eden District	
Shane Booysen	2:50	21	Overstrand Municipality	
Senzo Mjana	2:51	22	City of eThekwini	
Gert Steynsburg	2:52	23	Rosenbauer	
Bradley Grootboom	2:55	24	Overstrand Municipality	
Thabo Mbengwane	3:00	25	City of Ekurhuleni	
Moeketsi Maboya	3:01	26	City of Ekurhuleni	
Aghmat Steele	3:04	27	City of eThekwini	
Dewald Meintjies	3:08	28	Rosenbauer	
Cyprian Ayslie	3:11	29	Drakenstein Municipality	
Mark Van Wyk	3:15	30	Drakenstein Municipality	
Sam Zitha	3:17	31	City of Ekurhuleni	

SAEC Fire Fighter Challenge				
Female	Time	Rank	Service	
Chey McDonald	3:50	1	City of Cape Town	
Precious Pinky Mpungose	3:57	2	City of eThekwini	
Mathe Buyisile	4:43	3	City of eThekwini	
Faith Simangele Mbanja	4:48	4	City of eThekwini	
Enie Manzini	5:05	5	City of Ekurhuleni	
Grace Masango	5:52	6	City of eThekwini	
Mileka Mofokeng	6:00		City of Cape Town	
La Rochelle Wales	6:00		City of Cape Town	
Baigum Abrahams	6:00		City of Cape Town	
Thobile Ngwane	6:00		Msunduzi Municipality	

Vehicle Extrication Challenge		
Overall	Total	Ranking
Cape Town Destroyers	2366	1
Cape Town Metro Rescue	2190	2
Midvaal Municipality	2168	3
Cape Town Warriors	2116	4
Mangaung Metro Municipality	2055	5
Msunduzi Municipality	1967	6
Izembe (eThekwini)	1885	7
Hulk (Ekurhuleni)	1373	8
Eden District	1368	9
Best Medic	Cape Town Destroyers	
Best Incident Commander	Cape Town Destroyers	
Best Technical team	Midvaal Municipality	

High-Angle Technical Challenge			
Overall	Total	Ranking	
South African Air Force	1810	1	
City of Cape Town Fire and Resc	1746	2	
City of eThekwini	1576	3	
Mangaung Metro Municipality	1567	4	
City of Ekurhuleni	1297	5	
Best Medic	South African Air Force		
Best Incident Commander	South African Air Force		
Best Rigger	South African Air Force		

Emergency Medical Rescue Challenge			
ALS	Total	Ranking	
Cape Town Tumournator	575	1	
Ekurhuleni Amabhubesi	505	2	
ILS			
Cape Town Tumournator	500	1	
Ekurhuleni Anaconda	491	2	
Best Incident Commander	Ekurhuler	Ekurhuleni Anaconda	

SAEC Rescue Challenge - Relay			
Male teams	Time	Ranking	
Rosenbauer 2	1:42	1	
City of Cape Town	1:42	2	
City of eThekwini	1:49	3	
Rosenbauer 1	1:51	4	
Midvaal Fire Rescue	1:55	5	
Eden District Municipality	2:04	6	
Disaster Unit	2:11	7	
Overstrand Municipality	2:12	8	
Drakenstein Municipality	2:13	9	
Mangaung Metro Municipality	2:14	10	
Msunduzi Municipality	2:15	11	
Nelson Mandela Bay Metro	2:31	12	
City of Ekurhuleni	2:33	13	
Female teams			
City of eThekwini	2:53	1	
City of Cape Town	2:58	2	